Textured Spring Flowers 18 x 18 Inch Oil Painting Palette Knife

This is an 18 x 18 inch oil painting of a very pretty spring garden.  I do love this one.  It is a nice texture and the clouds are fun fun fun!  I seem to be in the “girl” tones this month.  This is what happened.  Deb Riley had a post about using Ultramarine blue and Naples yellow in a color palette and now I’m a little bit addicted.  It gives a softer look to my mixed colors.  I’m definitely not saying I don’t like my bright obnoxious usual colors.  I love them, but girly pinks and purples are a nice change for spring.

IMG_1097

IMG_1096

23 thoughts on “Textured Spring Flowers 18 x 18 Inch Oil Painting Palette Knife

    1. Thank you so much. 😀 Lots of thick paint, one sitting, don’t overwork the paint…very enjoyable process to work out.

      Like

    1. I get so confused about still life. Would this be considered still life? Seems a bit close up for landscape? Is it an outdoor still life unless it is windy? 😊thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As I have no real background in art, only what I think I know (ha!) – I always thought of still lifes as an indoor composition of objects. I found this definition online: “a painting or drawing of an arrangement of objects, typically including fruit and flowers and objects contrasting with these in texture, such as bowls and glassware.”

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jo. Can’t wait till this cast is off. I’m interested to see how I would do something like this with an unobstructed flipper! With the cast, I get tired a a lot sooner so my mindset is basically just lay the paint down and no use changing my mind and scraping it off it I don’t like it because I can’t right now anyway. I feel less stressed though, which is weird. I’ve kinda given myself the go ahead to just let the painting be what it is. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.

      Like

Leave a Reply

