Sunflower Hiding Place 11 x 14 Inch Oil Painting

I really love this little sunflower painting.  It goes well with the “Sunflower Awe II” I completed a few days ago.  I like the simplicity in the colors.  The blues are cooler than what the picture shows.  The vibrancy depends on the light situation but I would describe the blues as more turquoise and aqua against golden yellows of the sunflowers and the olive tones in the stems. The picture below captures the true color of the flowers and stems.


The picture below is adjusted to show a more true color of blue.  Ignore the sunflowers.  Yikes!

11 thoughts on “Sunflower Hiding Place 11 x 14 Inch Oil Painting

  1. Beautiful painting Dawn. I like the depth of the darker areas underneath the flowers, it has a feeling of space in it, and the textures of the many petals give the painting a very specific melancholy mood (for my mind).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Fritz. My mom calls my Sunflowers spider flowers. My sister says they look mean. Needless to say, they are not fans. But, I like them. Their style is very purposeful so I’m gonna keep,painting them this way.

      Like

Comments are closed.