A Quick Stop at Abo

My husband and I went to Mountainair, New Mexico this past weekend to drop off some paintings for the “21 Years of Enchantment” art show on August 26, 2016.  After dropping those off at Cibola Arts Gallery we headed to lunch.  If you are ever in Mountainair, make sure to check out a little cafe called Alpine Alley.  Those folks make great sandwiches and the fried pickles are excellent!  They serve breakfast and lunch.

We made reservations at a local RV park and headed home.  My husband knows I like to look at old ruins and it doesn’t matter to me how many times I have seen them.  Being the sweet guy he is, he knew I would enjoy seeing the Abo ruins again and made sure to take a right when I least expected it (I really didn’t think he would be game)…all of the sudden Abo!  I took some pictures to share.

If you go to the Mountainair Sunflower Festival, make sure to stop at Abo.  It isn’t very far off the main road at all and it is worth the stop!

23 thoughts on “A Quick Stop at Abo

    1. I love the mesas. I really really do and I also like the mountain areas with all the piñon and pine trees and stuff. So pretty. You are right, the colors of the dirt and sky are beautiful here. The sky is amazing. I wish they would quit spraying crap in it. Really ticks me off. I hate fake clouds. Sometimes I find myself painting them and I think aargh. Pretty soon, everyone will think it is normal, I think they already do. I saw some kids book with a picture of kids playing outside and the cloud was a big old fake sprayed cloud.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes. Mesas. Funny thing is I was trying to think of the word for plateau the other day….and it slipped my mind. So thanks for giving me the word. Funny.

          Colorado actually just passed some seeding program publically…as in, public knowledge for snow and rain. They are doing it here to…if that is what they are doing. Who knows. Whatever it is, we get a lot and I hate it. Something also called solar radiation management has something to do with spraying also. Then I read something about communications stuff so who the heck knows. Everything is such a sham you never know what is going on. Just confusion.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. The ones who finance it are rich but then again, I guess we could be financing it too…taxes and all. Guess it depends if it is a corporate thing or a government thing. The ones flying the planes…just trying to make a living I suppose.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! There are a few of them around the area which is pretty convenient. If you liked Jemez, you will like these too. Did you ever get to see Chaco Canyon and Bandelier? Pretty. Bandelier especially. You get to climb ladders into caves there and look at petroglyphs and pretty foliage…lots of it for here. Mesa Verde in Arizona is another really cool place.

      Salinas Pueblo Missions National Monument – With austere yet beautiful reminders of the early contact between Pueblo Indians and Spanish Colonials. Just minutes from Mountainair are the ruins of four mission churches, at Quarai, Abó, and Gran Quivira and the partially excavated pueblo of Las Humanas or, as it is known today, Gran Quivira are just minutes from Mountainair. Established in 1980 through the combination of two New Mexico State Monuments and the former Gran Quivira National Monument, the present Monument comprises a total of 1,100 acres of history to visit. Because of its close proximity to the ruins, Mountainair is referred to as the “Gateway to Ancient Cities.” http://www.nps.gov/sapu

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We’ve went to Bandelier in 2012 and again last year. I went to some other one when I was a real young boy, maybe it was Chaco…? Though not a ruin, I enjoyed Acoma pueblo.
        So how was the show? Did you go? Good luck at the Sunflower Festival!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh good! I love Bandelier. The show was good. Nice amount of people, music food. The skies in your art in real life are absolutely beautiful. I’m sorry, but I don’t think photographs can capture those skies and do them justice. We sat about 15 ft away and the lights and darks and depth at that distance were so cool. I spent a good deal of time as did my guests looking at them.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. I sold a painting and 3 painted glasses, did not place at the show. I wouldn’t say the festival is a good venue for selling art, but I was happy with the sell I made. I thought I saw that you made a sell? One of your paintings was gone.

          Like

        3. I’m glad you sold something! Those glasses are cool. My windmill painting was sold before I sent it… To my aunt! She agreed to buy it from MMAC (so they get the commission) and let them display it for at least the reception day.

          Liked by 1 person

        4. Thank you.

          I’m glad she let us see it for the show. I really liked the pieces you selected to send. Those skys. You taught me some things so I’m gonna see if next time I paint a sky if I can do it better. I was looking at your use of warms and cools in the skys and bright light!

          Like

Comments are closed.