Painted Glass

My sister called last week asking if I wanted some sunday glasses.  She had 3 boxes of unopened glasses and was going to get rid of them if I didn’t want them.  The problem was that I had 2 unopened boxes.  Between the two of us, we had 20 glasses.  I told her no and that I should get rid of mine also since they were just taking up space.  Heather then suggested I paint them and they could be pencil holders or vases…something cute and possibly even usable.  Anyway, that was what I spent last week doing.  Painting glasses.  These will go with me to the Mountainair Sunflower Festival as well.  I am so glad they are done.  Now I can get back to canvas.

Glass does not have tooth to grab paint so my sister and I coated these glasses first with glass and tile medium to help with durability.

92 thoughts on “Painted Glass

  1. I LOVE my glasses! check your etsy messages for more. By the way I have a special two book volume of Van Gogh’s paintings and with a beautiful cover of one of his self portraits….I have one of your glasses next to it on my desk in my studio….so cool together. 🙂 Happy as a lark in May!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad. I just happen to be reading about Van Gogh now. He fascinates me. I can’t tell what is real or myth about him. From what I can tell, he never really fit in. He grew up with a grave stone with his name on it because he was named after his still born brother…and he grew up pretty melancholic. He wasn’t good enough for the “church” at that time because he got to “close” to the peasants and was pushed away. He drew a lot and painted the last years of his really short life. In and out of the asylum, sad…women rejected him. I don’t know if he really ate paint, was always on absynth, committed suicide, cut off his own ear though. He saw the heavens as the gateway to eternity and evidence of the divine. He seemed to be in awe of creation. Anyhow…I gotta figure out the review thing. Please hold.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The book I have about him is beautiful and a museum type quality and I love it….it has his complete paintings and all his letters to his brother. When I first got it I read both volumes and devoured the paintings and info. Very sad, he was quite the obsessive compulsive. I am always encouraged by the fact that he only sold one painting but he kept on painting! I think of that often when I get discouraged.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, obsessive compusive! I want to read his letters. I am gonna do that as soon as I can. I would love a book of his paintings. I like to look at the texture, plus I just like his stuff…more than like. It is very…emotional maybe? Dynamic? Even his still life paintings are dynamic. It is like the flowers have energy wanting to break out of the canvas.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. very dynamic and emotional, I think one of the saddest is that he wanted to be a minister so bad and he felt so keen on feeling the peasants life and pain but it was not so well approved by the church people, he was too much out of the box in the way of ministering. Very interesting but I think it was very much where that oc came out as well. Oh your glasses are both on my desk, I have one near my book and then the other one is to my left under my lamp looking pretty happy. 🙂 I adore them so much.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. I know! His story is so interesting. I gotta read those letters.

          You move them glasses around and keep moving them so they don’t get bored. I just moved mine too.

          Liked by 1 person

        1. It wanted to charge you ship each glass so I bundled it as a set of two. The price will be 30 dollars for the glass “set”, but the shipping should only charge once. So enter quantity of 1.

          Liked by 2 people

        2. I shouldn’t. I increased the weight on the package to 3 pounds from 1.5 so it should work out as it should. If it is still too high, pay the shipping and I will send you the glasses for 5 bucks a piece.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. Lolol…not down grading. Counting on a good review in etsy! Awesome customer service…beautiful glasses…5 star! And I don’t want you getting over charged.

          Liked by 1 person

        4. I sent it off…..yay! I am looking forward to seeing your masterpieces 🙂 thank you for working with me….even the “oh my” over shipping and handling…oh my so silly but it is engrained in the American. complaints….complaints!

          Liked by 1 person

        5. I don’t understand why it is so high. When I ship it, if it is really that high, fine, but if it is not, I will send you your refund in the package. I am gonna find out if this is right. I don’t like that plus if I am entering things wrong, I need to know becuase it affects every other listing!

          Liked by 1 person

        6. exactly! yes it does sound off and you probably need to find out because you’ll have a lot of people balking…..I just want them bad enough and I went ahead….but you wouldn’t want to have them not being purchased because of the shipping and handling.

          Liked by 1 person

        7. no worries…..you can always let it stand, figure it out and reimburse if you discovered it to be wrong. I think that it would be better that way, less complicated. It will give you a chance to figure it out and not feeling that you acted on guilt. Lol I didn’t mean it that way but I know I get running on my feeling guilty and it just messes it things up. It truly is alright on my end. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        8. hehe…..can you imagine a total control freak with a penchant to make some poor artist soul suffer? oh my! I can feel the potential suffering from that one! lol yes, I am happy to be me. By the way “be a duck” what does that one mean? I have never heard of it, I have learned more phrases from you, Laura and Debi. lol

          Liked by 1 person

        9. Or…I could duck. Lololol. Mi almost spit when you said duck like a duck…I’m a little slow. I am still giggling about that. The only thing I could say was sure….

          Liked by 1 person

        10. oh yes I did!…..somewhere in our slinging comments, I may have not responded properly. oh, oh did you think I was getting passive aggressive!?….me!?? no way, I am as cool as a cucumber. 🙂 lol I have been multi-tasking in the heat of the comments, trying to figure what which DS paints to buy, bills, cleaning the fridge…..just another Monday to deal with. lol by the way, as soon as my husband’s extra $ comes in I’ll be making an order for my acrylics! yay….I still haven’t decided between Golden or Liquitex, I keep going back and forth, I’ll have to do my research.

          Liked by 1 person

        11. Nope…just thought you missed it and still thought I meant duck…as in duck a punch.

          Well, I can tell ya that I prefer the student grade grumbacher for color blocking…and I will use a student grade to make a color that I might need if I don’t have it in the golden and you can’t tell…so don’t know that information helps or not.

          Liked by 1 person

        12. hehe….duck! 🙂 hmm…..I am always leery of student grade and if I am going to buy a palette worth, I want to not be an unhappy artist with low grade stuff….either in truth or all in my mind. I think that I’ll call Dick Blick and see if they will send me something! hey, there you go! I want to try it out before deciding.

          Liked by 1 person

        13. I probably should have been more clear…what I trying to say so poorly is that if you like the liquitex, I am sure you would be fine continuing with it if the golden end up being much more in price. I think as long as they are professional grade, you will be fine.

          Liked by 1 person

        14. wow……you needed to interpret yourself, lol I know how it is sometimes. So, I am willing to try out Golden, I called DB and they are sending me a sample. I guess I like the idea of Golden and heard a few things that made me think it is top notch over liquitex. I never mind paying a little more for better results. Take for instance everyone seems to think that Daniel Smith watercolors are expensive, maybe they are but I think they are worth it and fabulous. I’ll let you know what I have decide, this might be kind of fun.

          Liked by 1 person

        15. I am terrible about getting my point across! I read somewhere that student grade is equivalent to using mediums to dilute as far as color, so I figured out I could use my student grades when I need thin color like my undercoat/base or if I need to mix a color I don’t have …like I will use lemon yellow student grade (tiny bit) in golden Phthalo for instance. Crummy way to make the point that liquitex and golden might not be all that different if they are professional.

          Liked by 1 person

        16. Did you talk to a technician and what did they say? About liquitex vs golden. Very curious. You had mentioned being able to get texture with liquitex so keeping my ear to the ground for information from your research.

          Liked by 1 person

        17. You know I got ahold of a person that couldn’t really tell me, all she said was that they sold more Golden than Liquitex. I didn’t talk to the right associate, Laura always seems to get the right people to talk to. Though I am getting a sample sent out to me. I need to step it up with my research because I’ll be able to buy my stuff in over a week….yay!

          Liked by 1 person

        18. That is a bummer she didn’t know more. I guess you will find out soon enough. When was the last time you used the liquitex and is your memory fresh enough do you think to compare the two? Is it going to be weird when you paint in acrylic after all the watercolor work?

          Liked by 1 person

    1. I sure hope so. I better wear pink. People seem to approach me when I wear pink. Then, last week I was reading about art/craft show tips and the lady who wrote it said to wear pink! People are drawn to pink…they see it as friendly or something. Pink it is to sell the glasses.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These are so amazing and beautifully painted glasses, Dawn. Glad that you and your sister did not get rid of them. They can make beautiful centerpiece with a single flower or as a group. the possibilities of how one can use them is endless.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought the same thing Carrie. I decided to keep the remaining starry night and it really is cute on the shelf. Another piece of stuff I don’t need, but cute none the less. I don’t have anything in it at all but it looks good anyway. I am slowly but surely trying to get rid of stuff and here I added instead of subtracted.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s great. No problem with adding stuff once in a while. We are all in the same boat of getting rid of stuff for new ones. The cycle never ends and sometimes adding makes us really work on getting rid of the unnecessary stuff.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you like the starry night ones cuz I painted three of them! I am thinking 20 bucks a piece. Does that sound fair? I looked through etsy and other internet sites to see what they go for and thought 20 sounded good.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Absolutely. Let me post the another starry night photo so you can choose between the three. I will put it on etsy for you and I think that will make it easier on both of us. Please don’t feel like you need to buy from me…but if you really want one, it is yours.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. hehe…..you kidding? I want, I need! I follow what I so desire as long as I don’t break the bank or commit a crime or walk on the immoral side! of course I want to buy it….sure I am unfamiliar with etsy but I agree, it will be easier.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. Thank you Margaret. How exciting! I posted a pic of the three. Number two (the one in the middle) is my favorite and the prototype….I just added it to this post for you.

          Liked by 1 person

        4. The middle one. The lines are finer and cleaner and it was the first one so I didn’t know what I was doing and was probably lots more careful and not bored of it already. If it were me, I would go for the middle one of the three. Unless…you hate the number 13 because that was its number in the lineup of 20. Then you might want number 1 or 3.

          Let me post some more for you.

          Liked by 1 person

        5. No just 3 out of 20 are starry night sunflowers. I posted more pics on this post for you so you can compare moons and stars and wind and sunflowers. I think number 1 has the best sunflower middles, number 2 the best wind and number 3 the best stars…

          Liked by 1 person

        6. Sounds good to me, I have number 1 and 3 set aside for you. Those are glasses number 15 and 19 in the glass painting adventure. It is listed in Etsy when you are ready.

          Liked by 1 person

        7. I did. My husband sold one this morning after he was showing a gal at work my post. The second row far left coneflower. So this could be interesting.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you miss Margaret. I hope so too. Lots of hours put into that little project. I really bogged down by the end…I kept telling my self…just five more, just four more…

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.