Mostly Sleeping Sunflowers 11 X 14 Inch Still Life Oil Painting

This is an 11 X 14 oil painting of sunflowers in a vase.  Most of them appear to be sleeping except the one in the back who has a case of the yawns.  I contemplated whether I should paint Zees coming out of the lower right hand sunflower who seems to be catching flys during his nap.  However, I decided that if he wasn’t sleeping and snoring…then he is looking at the sunflower who fell out of bed…whoops!  Ooooh.  You okay guy?

18 thoughts on “Mostly Sleeping Sunflowers 11 X 14 Inch Still Life Oil Painting

    1. Thank you Tierney. That makes me glad. Right now I have been painting glasses with acrylics so I will have paintings and painted glasses at my booth at the sunflower festival…they are like little vases that can hold flowers or pens or brushes or whatever. I will probably do a post on them soon. I still have 8 more to do. I have not painted a canvas painting in days and I am starting to feel it, but I really don’t have the time right now to do oils. I could do a few more acrylics and they would be dry in time, so I might get a few more done before the weekend after next. When that is over, I hope to be back to painting regularly again in my oils. I am really missing oils right now.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You always seem to come up with something different with your sunflowers, how the heck do you manage that? You must have an active mind! I love your colors, textures and man your background is very, very cool. I have no idea why they are sleepy in such an exciting environment…..maybe you have been singing while painting? Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Margaret. Giggle….my daily exercise, paint the same sunflowers as yesterday but make it different. That is about how that goes. Oh wait, I have orange from yesterday so gotta build colors around that…but different than yesterday…and I just paint. Just like to paint.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love how you added so much detail to this painting. The background, base and tabletop have an abundance of texture that looks so amazing. Of course the sunflowers are outstanding as well. they have a rustic charm that makes them seem life-like. Can’t imagine how they could fall asleep with the lively environment they are residing in.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you much Cindy. Just thinking about the effects I want to achieve which my paintings…I want people to look at the colors and say….huh. Wasn’t expecting that. Then I want them to reach out their hand because they want to touch it. You know how they say to stand back and look at a painting? I want people to want to get closer to it! Find the brush hairs if they can…that close!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.