Sunflowers Watching and Wading Under an August Moon 16 X 20 Inch Acrylic Painting

This is a 16 X 20 inch acrylic painting of sunflowers taking a swim while watching the full moon in August.  Night swim!  Yay!  My husband and I decided the little sunflower reminded us of our dog, Petey.  Petey loves to swim.  I wanted to put a little sunflower bud for a tail or another leaf in a tail like fashion but I restrained myself and am saving Petey for my own interpretation of this painting.  Margaret, this one is for you.  

Petey loves to swim!
42 thoughts on “Sunflowers Watching and Wading Under an August Moon 16 X 20 Inch Acrylic Painting

  1. Dawn…..I have been out plein air painting….lol….imagine that and then seeing this…..hehe! love it! I love moonlit nights at the lake nearby and we have done a tailgate party looking at the moon and watching the bats come in for a drink and catching mosquitos. So when I saw this, it reminded me of our treks to our lake nearby on a full moon night. Love this painting…..the sky, the stars and the two sunflowers look like they are holding hands. Little sunflower looks wistful….love it! Oh….I need to read your conversation with Laura about our venture into acrylics. I need to get moving and purchase them!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Margaret. I bet it is great fun watching the bats. I have seen big groups of them at Carlsbad Caverns and I have a few at my house, but to tailgate at a lake with the moon and stars and see them, I bet is a real treat!

      We will do acrylics when everyone is ready and it will be fun.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I was gonna call this one, speaking of holding hands…watching and wading under a Honey Moon…but people think of sunflowers as more of an August thing, vs June so I painted a honey moon but called it an August moon.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can totally visualize two sweethearts standing arm in arm watching the sunset! Great job!

    By the way, I stopped at a flower shop, while on vacation, yesterday and saw a large crock filled with sunflowers. The sunflowers were grown locally and cost only $2 a piece. I purchased three in honor of you and my own obsession with these gorgeous flowers.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Lol…just a little detour. I wanted to have some more dry paintings for the sunflower festival and oil won’t dry quick enough and I ain’t buying stuff to quicken up the drying time…

          They are so different than oils Laura and I haven’t painted with oils for over a week and I might be going into withdrawal because I dreamed about oils last night! I think today I will probably do oils and just not worry about taking it…oh that lovely thick, wet paint.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. I read about those and people complained of a film that occurs sometimes when it dries. I thought about medium to open the drying time and for texture, but I want to wait to see if I will continue painting with them and this isn’t just a phase….and then my argument side of my brain comes out and says if you open drying time…the use oils…and round and round I go.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. Definitely faster drying than oils, and I mix open with regular and see no difference in the sheen. They can take up to a day to dry but where you are, probably less. Here it is always humid. Just a thought, I hope you settle on something that works. I love the Open paints but I love acrylics and have never tried oils other than paint by numbers when I was a kid (which I loved lol)

          Liked by 1 person

        4. Yes there is Open medium by Golden that will extend the working time of whatever you mix it with – but if it’s not an Open paint, won’t be as long as the Open paint would have been. and the matte and gloss mediums can extend the time just a bit and also extend the paint and will tend to make it not as vibrant, almost like watering down WC paint would do. and then there are acrylic retarders that will also extend the open time. And then Golden makes an acrylic glazing liquid (that’s what they call it also) that is a mix of a retarder with an acrylic medium so this converts your paint layer into a layer of glaze. This is what I really love, as it allows me to see the layers beneath, which I like having come from WC background.

          Liked by 1 person

        5. I have a few more scheduled to post so far and lots of acrylic paints left…but I have to practice for the acrylic challenge this fall. Lol….don’t forget about that!

          Liked by 1 person

        6. Lololol…the one Margaret and I want to do in the fall…you already said yes! I know, you have more to think about than painting and all, but this is really important! 😀

          Liked by 1 person

        7. Laura (Createarteveryday) says:
          July 30, 2016 at 3:43 pm
          Edit
          Yes I am totally game!! Anytime through January should work for me; feb-apr is too busy but I would love it!! As long as we’re not doing a have to, every day, I learned not to do that but this sounds good!!

          From the windy day acrylic sunflower post….

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and Petey says thank you too! He is very handsome and he knoooows it. He comes out of the water looking all Fabio shaking his tail all over…

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.