Windy Day 16x 20 Inch Acrylic Sunflower Painting

Today I went to a painting party at my sister’s house.  We had a small get together for the birthday of a long time friend of mine.  The gals painted a girl in Paris with Cinnamon the Art Sherpa and I painted sunflowers for my booth at the Mountainair Sunflower Festival in August.  I love how fast acrylics dry and how pure colors stay.  I hate how fast acrylics dry and how pure the colors stay.  With oils, I hate how slow they dry and how it is difficult to keep colors pure..but I also love how slow they dry and how difficult it is to keep the colors pure.  What’s a gal to do?  I really enjoyed my time with acrylics today and I hope to be spending more time with them in the future.  It gives my art a very different look and acrylic is so easy to clean up.  An added bonus is that it is so much quicker painting wise.  You don’t have to be as careful and it is so easy to just paint over an area if you don’t like it…not like oils at all in that regard.  I just might be expanding my horizons.  I don’t mean to say I am giving up oils, but acrylics are a nice change once in a while.

41 thoughts on “Windy Day 16x 20 Inch Acrylic Sunflower Painting

  1. Dawn! Please do more acrylic work! This is glowing and brilliantly flowing free and beautiful! I love your oils but this one really shines for me, my friend! Totally love the free and clear feeling about this! And I’m also wondering what brand you like.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I will, I will! When I want flowey I think acrylic is the way to go with the way I paint…if I want textured and heavy I will do oils. It is kind of exciting to know I can do two mediums. Lol. I was just talking about paint with Margaret and mentioned you actually. This painting is done with grumbacher academy but last night I was surfing the net checking out golden paints.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I am going for golden then…thank you! I tried a green from a reaaaaaly cheap student set from Walmart….oh good grief. Heck no! Save that for painting rocks. I didn’t have any problems with grumbacher, but I want more pigment.

          Liked by 1 person

    2. Laura! Dawn and I are wanting to do a challenge this fall/winter when it is cooler and when I can purchase my Golden acrylics and stuff…..are you game? I don’t want to be painting/posting every day but more of an art challenge of learning and bouncing off from each other and sharing what we are doing. What do you think?

      Liked by 2 people

        1. that works for me as well….april on is busy with “outdoor get ready for summer” time…..very cool! I have acrylics and oil pastels on my list to get and to start work on. Good thing that my husband is an art supporter of mine! lol Now I am hoping that my paintings do sell at that art show because I’ll need the money!

          Liked by 2 people

  2. You totally amaze me! you carried your technique right into acrylics without a hitch! if you had never mentioned the medium, I would have guessed it to be oil….I really like acrylics and have been meaning to get back into them. I love to mix color. Your painting is one of my favorites (they all are!) and looks as fresh and lively as any of them. Have you ever used gloss medium as a varnish? I have used about three coats and it makes an acrylic shine like an oil. Anyway, I hope to see you paint more in acrylics, it might get me motivated. Which brand do you use?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am gonna have to look up gloss medium. Thank you very much Margaret. This is my third acrylic painting. Back in December I did two Art Sherpa Owls for elephant gifts and I liked it but never did another until now….I have never used gloss medium but now I am gonna check that out. The paints are grumbacher academy…last night I was looking at golden professional paint and I know Blick had sent me golden samples so I am gonna try them at some point and see how I like them, I think Laura said good things about Golden but not sure???

      Liked by 2 people

      1. be sure that you get the type that varnishes rather than using it to paint with…..which will make it glossy. I like the varnish because it is three process, get it done. With the gloss while painting, if you don’t have the exact mix each time, you’ll see that in your painting, if that makes any sense. I want the Golden as well, yes, Laura is in love with them. She is the one to talk to about it. Maybe she’ll have more info about the glossing than I do. By the way, wouldn’t it be fun to do an acrylic challenge this fall or winter? I rather wait until I don’t have to fight the drying process, so much easier. Also I need to get my Golden acrylics. If you are game, let me know….and maybe Laura would be interested. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

        1. I think an acrylic challenge would be lots of fun and I am game. If I did acrylics for a while, I could be very productive doing other things too cuz my day wouldn’t be all eaten up like it is with oils. Sometimes I am still painting at 10 o clock at night and I am getting old! I need beauty rest. I gotta get paint and brushes of my own. I used community spoils yesterday.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. That would be great! oh boy…..I can imagine that the clean-up is much better. Did you want to ask her or should be both? here is a link….so either varnishing or as a medium to paint with….I think I have this particular one. I used it to extend without using too much water and then used it as a varnish….here is a link: http://www.misterart.com/painting/acrylics/gels-mediums/liquitex-acrylic-gloss-medium-varnish.html

          Liked by 1 person

        3. Okay, I am going to the art store today hopefully and will pick some up as well as paint and brushes. Gonna be an expensive day…not real excited about that part, but am excited about new art supplies. We can both ask if you want? I am gonna ask in this thread since she is around.

          Liked by 1 person

        4. I have used a Liquitex varnish/gloss medium that can be used to mixed in your paints or as a last coat/varnish…..I am not too familiar with Golden and their varnish or medium products. here is a link explaining it…. http://www.art-is-fun.com/how-to-varnish-an-acrylic-painting I like how the site really explains the importance of varnishing. Laura might have more info on specific products, you might ask her. When I have varnished, I used at least two-three coats. It makes your painting pop and come alive.

          Liked by 1 person

        5. I just read that link! Nice! I am gonna get me some glazing liquid and some of the liquitex stuff you used and I need some tile medium so I can paint some glasses and see how that does. Well, the husband is at the store. He is getting it for me.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Ya know Fritz…they are so easy to work with all in all. I did have a lot of fun and it wasn’t an all day affair to do it, like 1/4 or less time to do it. I prefer texture of oils but acrylics are so relaxing. I think I will be adding them to my line up for more than just play days though.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good resolution. I think painting in more than one medium can only make you better in each – the lessons spill over from one to the other in interesting ways. Have to say I did not always like the very matt look of acrylics when they dried, but yours look great.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you very much. Lessons do spill over for sure and since I paint wet on wet with oil, which means very little opportunity to layer color, it was a great change to be able to use layers of color…I really enjoyed that part I think the most.

          Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.