Critique 11 X 14 Two Sunflowers in  Vase Still Life Oil Painting

This is a critique of a painting I did not too long ago by Daniel Edmonsdon.  I had the hardest time even listening to what he was saying. I couldn’t get over the horribly glared back ground and the really dirty petal.  I sat there and nit picked the whole painting and then the critique was over and I went about painting something else.   When my husband got home, we watched it together.  This time I listened to what he was saying and was very pleased with the advice and noticed he was answering some questions I sent him in a very practical way.  He even told me how to easily adjust my color to fix that petal which I didn’t even hear the first watch around.

12 thoughts on “Critique 11 X 14 Two Sunflowers in  Vase Still Life Oil Painting

    1. Thank you so much. I was just beginning to figure out my own style. I think this was one of the first ones where I kinda said..that is it. I am painting the way I paint and I am going to work with it and develop that style.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Very generous of you to post this DawnMarie, we can all learn from this. My wife really likes this painting! I like it but I like the other one – landscape with the sunflowers in the foreground even more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you. Tell your wife thank you also. I can’t decide if I prefer landscapes or still life. I think anything with flowers in it makes me glad to paint but I am with you on this one. I prefer the landscapes to this painting at least.

      Like

    2. The first critique I posted on the blog I was so nervous! But I am glad I did because helpful tips are helpful tips and maybe others can use them too.

      Like

        1. Lol. Yup. Hey, get up here…That obsessive lady of the house is gonna get her nose bent all outta shape. She don’t stand for no petals in the table.

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.