The Sun 14x 18 Inch Oil Painting

This is a 14 X 18 inch oil painting.  I believe I have found my own way (to my liking) of depicting the moon.  Now I am working on the sun.  I thought about giving the sky a yellow color, but it would have overpowered the sunflower in my opinion.  Too much yellow I feel for one painting (for my taste).  Does anyone have any ideas on how to portray that brightness while still having a deep blue sky?  I want my painting to be recognizable as the sun, but I don’t want it particularly realistic.  I want representational.  I also thought about painting a few concentric circles of yellow around the sun but will save that for the next painting.

24 thoughts on “The Sun 14x 18 Inch Oil Painting

    1. Thank you Laura. My sister suggested just a scrumble of really light white/yellow around the sun as an option also while leaving the rest of the sun style the same. So I have some options.

      I’m off to camp. Have a great rest of the week!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love your desert scene! The blue in those rocks is magnificent. I do agree with you that a yellow sky would be too much, although I like the idea of concentric rings of light radiating out from the sun. I’m not sure about the size of the sun either. Have you thought of making it slightly smaller? It almost seems to be competing with the sunflower for attention. Maybe a lighter, almost white-hot sun would work. I’ll check back to read other comments. It’s an interesting question, and I’d be interesting in reading what experienced artists suggest.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did think about making the sun smaller, but I wanted it to feel like the sunflower was so close to it that it could reach out and touch it…I was having trouble because I wanted the sunflower to look like it was have a morning conversation with the sun, like almost looking in the mirror or something. I will try a bit smaller the next time, and that would give me space to do concentric circles.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s what I was thinking…maybe the “rings” reaching out to touch the flower. It’s still a conversation, just more of a long-distance call. ๐Ÿ™‚ I noticed the way the sunflower was leaning toward the sun. I really liked that.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I think that is a good idea. I will try that and see how it goes. Might take me several paintings to find my own sun style, but dog gone it…I am determined.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. I have done a few but the painting, once the colors are put in never looks like the sketch. The objects are right, but the colors and textures change things quite a bit. I did a thumbnail with a sun that was all concentric circles, which looked pretty cool on paper, but when when I did it on canvas, I wasn’t as pleased, thus the palette knife came in to blend it all together. That was different for me because usually I just paint my sketch onto the canvas when I am ready to paint rather than practicing on paper…which I should do more of btw.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. What I think would also be cool is to make the moon out also, like how you see the moon in the sky during the day. Hmmmm…..full moon or crescent? I would make it a bluesy shade of white.

          Like

        4. I would definitely make it a crescent, but that’s me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Would you have enough space in the sky without it getting crowded? Maybe the painting just needs a little more sky?

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.