Blurry Sunflowers 16×20 inch Oil Painting

This is a 16 X 20 inch oil painting of sunflowers in red, yellow and green.  I have been messing around with the palette knife lately and used it in this painting to cover up many words in the background.  I wanted the words there, but not to be seen.  I know they are there however and this painting is for me and when I look at it, I am reminded of what is beneath.   I like the weird little blue green spot in the leaf and the blurry centers.  

21 thoughts on “Blurry Sunflowers 16×20 inch Oil Painting

  1. Wow! interesting because my attention and eye goes to your background. I then read what you wrote! The way you used the palette knife and the broken color is mesmerizing…..then your flowers say…..no don’t look there, look at us….wink…wink. lol Love it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow. That is weird. It is the nine fruits of the spirit…in black even! Like 1 inch letters listed randomly all over the red and green…but not in the yellow.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. very weird indeed! see…..that’s what I am saying, you are creating art that has so many corridors and if people are sensitive they can pick up on it. I take that back though, even if they aren’t as sensitive as some, they are getting your symbolic messages somehow, maybe they can’t put their finger on it but they are aware of it and pulled in by it. This is what I think art should be, something that conveys, moves or shows and your art does that. πŸ™‚ now….I will bow and show my respect and admiration……it’s coming……*bowing πŸ™‚ that was fun. lol

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Lol. My sunflowers thank you for the bow. Thank for for all the really nice things you have to say about my art. I really appreciate it.

          Liked by 1 person

    2. And then 5 is the number of grace and I thought it was fitting for this one, so 5 sunflowers. I generally use numbers to represent what I feel that day whether it be in total number of objects or just number of flowers or whatever. Sometimes I don’t, and I rely on the colors to be symbolic. There are 22 marigolds in the marigold picture with the blue vase and background.

      Liked by 2 people

        1. Lots of blue, gold, purple, red and green…symbols of the heavens and divinity, refinement and preciousness, royalty, salvation and life. Very easy to figure out if you know what to look for and then the numbers add to it sometimes or the subject does…sunflowers and poppies are very symbolic for me. The poppy is kind of an opposite extreme to the Sunflower in that it signifies death and sleep but at the same time the color symbolizes atonement and it too follows the sun…it also symbolizes rest to me. Marigold are called the Suns bride. Apparently the name comes demo the offerings to idols of Mary by early Christians….I don’t see it that way. I see it as a different kind of gold that Mary obviously had a part in. The marigold opens when the sun comes out and is associated with joy and happiness but also with grief and cruelty…

          Liked by 1 person

        2. So interesting how you have outlined the symbolism….I get the gist or feeling by looking but necessarily knowing the background. I will now be able to have this in mind when I look at your art, it will cement the meaning even more so. I am working on my intuitive painting right now and going by what I feel led to put down, the marks and colors….do you ever do that even though your images have symbolic meanings? I would like to do a combo next time.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. I have never intuitive painted. You are doing a really nice job on yours and of course, to me, I see a flower. I see flowers in everything.

          Liked by 1 person

        4. flowers are amazing….you should give intuitive painting a try, it is truly freeing. πŸ™‚ though I shouldn’t be doing anything while I am painting on this…..got to get back to it lol hard to be intuitive when I am not in that space. lol

          Liked by 1 person

        5. I am taking a break for a moment and I can answer you πŸ™‚ The genesis was over two years ago….I officially started it in Dec. of 2015. Sometimes a few months go by and I don’t paint on it. When I do, I will paint strokes throughout several hours. I can get quite a bit done at a time. But I only touch it when I know what color or where or what. πŸ™‚ I don’t know when it is done, I guess that will be a surprise. It is in a way “in the moment” kind of painting, here and now….not to worry about when or why. Purely a spiritual painting, “be still”…..it is truly freeing.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I do too; I like this a lot Dawn! Wow, you do amazing things with your palette knife! Loving the colors, composition, and I love that you have those words under the surface, for you alone. Really terrific, the whole package there. You’re making me wanna do a palette knife painting! Do you have any specific ones you prefer?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For me, I prefer knives with a good long bend in the handle between the handle and the knife and I like the corners of the blade by the handle to be rounded vs straight. If the bend is too shallow, I get my hand in my painting and with straight edges I end up scraping paint off my canvas that I don’t want scraped off. Just awkward.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I bought my first ones from Amazon and had no clue…when I went to get gesso the other week I had a chance to actually hold the knives. So many different kinds! Art of John French posted a picture of his studio a few days ago. He does all palette knife paintings and his studio wall is filled with knives of all kinds. Amazing. He could have a store himself!

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.