Overflowing Apple Blossoms in Orange Vase 11 X 14 Still Life Oil Painting

This is an 11 X 14 inch oil painting of Apple blossoms in a vase.  This was from a still life class I am finishing up.  I put two extra coats of gesso, (I left it unsanded for extra texture) onto Blick Studio Canvas.  This painting was done through Daniel Edmondson’s Beginner Still Life course.  I wanted my still life to flow all over the canvas so I have more flowers then I am supposed to have.

   
    
 

29 thoughts on “Overflowing Apple Blossoms in Orange Vase 11 X 14 Still Life Oil Painting

  1. This is one of you best paintings so far, in my opinion. I would hang this in my home any day. Your brush strokes are clean and strong and the patterns and colors have your style all over them. I think it is telling that you put in “more flowers than you were supposed to” – good for you! The world needs more flowers and less guns.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s no limit to how many flowers and petals you can have. These are divine. I love them spilling all over the painting, overflowing the vase and filling the frame. Not to mention the gorgeous colors. Beautiful work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am experimenting. You have influenced me that way. I have a poppy painting I did a few days ago that I am waiting to dry enough so the glare isn’t so bad. I use the knives in blending and to create texture and quite a bit in back ground lately, but the poppy is pretty much all pallet knife. Just got me two knew knives the other day with rounded edges near the handle side and pointier tips. So many different knives!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I love your paintings so much! you have such a distinct style and thank you for the close-ups…..love looking at the brush strokes. Your paintings remind me of symbolism, not sure if I am correct but it feels like it fits….I probably need to look up the style. 🙂 you are inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is something called symbolism? Huh. I love to paint in cryptic symbolism….I use it in color a lot, but I don’t talk about it. Lol.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. yes, there is…..but cryptic symbolism is new to me! Yes, I pick up symbolism in your work, I can’t quite explain it but I do. I have a painting that was referred to as a symbolism painting by people in the know. I kind of like the idea of it if anything. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much. Yes, I used two coats of gesso on this one and I think I am getting better results. I did another one today and it seems like my paint goes further which is nice.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. You should you should! My sister complains that she has to use so much paint when we have our sister fun painting days with the art Sherpa. For the painting birthday party we are having for a friend of ours, I am going to gesso her canvas for her and see if she likes it any better.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. I don’t want it smooth though. I like leaving it unsanded and just using the brush to get it smoothed down a little rather than sanding it smooth.

          Like

        3. Yes. This is true. If I painted with details, I would definitely have to sand it down. So glad I don’t that way I can be lazy and skip that step.

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.