Pear in Martini Glass Critique 

This is my third critique by Daniel Edmondson.  I think it went pretty well.  I agreed with the recommendations about the reflected light on the pear, some darker reds being put into some of the olives and I think some different greens too. I am not sure about there being too light of strokes in the background.  I’m looking at the painting right now and I’m thinking I might have some glare that is exaggerating it.  I don’t know.  Maybe I just like it that way.  Yikes!  Taking pictures is not my thing but I am working on that as well.  I also kinda like the fuzzy background on one side mixed with the tighter background on the other.  It was my attempt at being arty?  I am trying to loosen up!  It was a compromise.  Slowly but surely.  Anyway, the critique is below.

36 thoughts on “Pear in Martini Glass Critique 

  1. “…how few people have done anything with olives…” I smiled when he said that. You’re definitely not typical when it comes to art, and isn’t that great! I’ve got mixed feelings about the background. I like it as it is, yet maybe I’d like it just as well without the white strokes. The glass is incredible! You did a marvelous job on that, and on the pear, too. And the olives. I sure wouldn’t worry much about varying the reds! Overall, I think the painting is excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Judith! I was surprised about the olives. I smiled at that also. I bought so gesso yesterday and did a painting last night with it. Oh my gosh Judith! Night and day!!!!!! The painting isn’t great cuz now I have to adjust to using less paint since it doesn’t soak into the canvas and that is gonna be a learning process, but hey…less paint means less money spent on paint. I’ll post that one at some point shortly just so people who buy canvas can see the difference. Incredible. I just did 2 coats of the stuff and didn’t sand because I like texture anyway. Maybe I will sand lightly in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was also surprised about the glass. I felt like a fish out of water doing that. Laura mentioned the glass as well…and so did he, so I am gonna just call the glass good. 😀

        Like

        1. It is white and glue like…it was in the acrylic supply section and the gal at the store had to pick it out for me. It is Daler Rowney Graduate White Gesso Primer. Very easy to use, dries in like 10 minutes or so, then I added another coat.

          Btw…HOBBY LOBBY I will never shop at your store again! Ever. Bought turpenoid, 32 oz there this weekend for 22 bucks. The art store…a privately owned business where I doubt the owners are worth over 4 billion and don’t send all their knock off stolen ideas to Chinese factories to make was less than 14 bucks.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. I’m not a fan of Hobby Lobby which is why I buy most of my art supplies through Amazon. Unfortunately Hobby Lobby is the closest thing we have to an “arts” store (it’s still about 20 miles away) so somethings I go there in I need something right away. Either that, or Wal-Mart — which is only a couple of miles away. Wal-Mart doesn’t carry much, though.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. I am not a fan of hobby lobby either but it is 5 minutes away vs 20. I swore them off a long time ago around the time they were stuffing their nose in health insurance business and made a big whoop about some of the meds they refused to have covered…meanwhile doing tons if not all their business with China which is a huge violator of human rights and forced abortions….and being okay with covering other medications that work the exact same way as the ones they refused to have covered. Then they had their huge $$$$$$$ bible exhibit at the Vatican that is supposed to move to Washington DC at some point I believe. Plus they pay their employees poorly from what I understand…like just enough hours not to have to supply benefits and that kind of thing. I just smell hypocrisy and in a weak moment, I bought their turpenoid. Never again.

          Liked by 1 person

        4. I was so stupid just staring with eyes glazed over in the store. Some gal took pity on me and picked out the product for me. She said I didn’t need the 80 per gallon gesso which I appreciated. So colors….I have no idea. I was a glazed over zombie.

          Liked by 1 person

        5. I just did the beginner still life so I could learn some tips…and he has given me some good tips. I did it back in March. He sends one lesson per week for 10 weeks. I have two more to do and am hoping to get them done in the next few days or weeks.

          Liked by 1 person

        6. I think so. 10 classes, 10 critiques, 2 of the 10 were on setting up blog and selling and setting up still life’s. So you get a lot and each class is about 1 and 1/2 to 2 hours. He tells you not to change your style so that is nice. He doesn’t expect you to copy him or the portrait.

          Liked by 1 person

        7. And you just have to remember as he is painting that he is doing a quick study….not a finished master piece. There is a huge difference between what he sells and what he does quickly for teaching purposes.

          Liked by 1 person

        8. He sends you an email and it links to his private videos and photos and some handouts. And you get cool cards to make you remember things. One says PIBBAMP which stands for….preserve the integrity of brush work, be authoritative, use more paint or something like that.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I see his point, but I don’t think it’s competing at all. I think it adds to your focal point myself. I really like this painting, love the composition! The pear inside and the olives outside, so cool, Dawn! Almost poking a bit of fun at the standard pear still lives you see so often. This is cool. He seems like a really good teacher! The glass looks fantastic too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. See, that is exactly where I am torn. It draws my eyes to the pear…but then again, if it were darker, there would be more dimension.

      The still life in class has grapes and grape stems and The pear was orange. If I remember, he had both green and purple grapes.

      Giggle. Poking fun at still life pear paintings. I am pretty sure that he mentioned olives during that lesson. I was so sick of grapes! I jumped on the olives idea.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. lol! I do think the tones of red would be cool adds. Some deeper tones. But if it were mine, I wouldn’t change the background. If I did, it would only change a teensy bit. I agree, draws the eye to that beautiful stem.

        Like

Comments are closed.