My First Critique Pot of Pansies

I was so nervous to open the email.  I could see the title.  It was a critique of a painting I did called pansies in a pot.  I would get one about every week on several paintings.  I sent him a few paintings just to show him what he taught me.  I didn’t ask for critiques, but I guess if you send your teacher your paintings, you get critiqued.  I still have a few more classes to complete but have been doing my own thing.  I better get back to it next week and get them all finished up.  Fruit….

I thought I would share this one.  See the short video below.  I appreciated that he was gentle and didn’t break my spirit.  I can be tender.  I understood what he said in his suggestions and agreed.

The teacher is Daniel Edmondson.  I like his teaching style and his painting style.  It is wet on wet with heavy use of paint.  I’m not quite there yet, but with time I think I can be.  Practice.

21 thoughts on “My First Critique Pot of Pansies

  1. Dawn, violas are my favorite flower, just a smaller version of these pansies here and I LOVE this painting. I think it’s stunning. I’m so glad he loved it too because you did nail these flowers and there is so much beautiful light shining here, I can almost feel the warmth! And I agree that your strokes are so fresh and clean and wonderful (how do you do that? I need to really learn this). So nice to see what he thought and get professional feedback. Way to go! Yes, you do have what it takes and I am really loving this one, my friend!! πŸ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Laura. I appreciate that. Brush strokes…many thousands of petal stroke practices. You load up the brush and try as hard as you can to only put the stroke down once, layering colors dark to light as you go…the way your stroke looks will depend on the way you move your hand and wrist and I think everyone has their own unique way of doing that. Practice.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Um I think you have much more than that. My husband really liked the Raven too. (We’re Ravens fans lol). I will have to show him this one. Love it! I actually kind of like the dark and sort of ‘we’re not quite sure where this is’ feeling to the background. I think it makes a fantastic contrast to the delicate flowers with all of the light. It’s like you’re shining your light in a dark place, you know? I think it adds to the mystique. Is it what we expect from a flower painting? No, but that’s what adds to its impact. Just my .02. πŸ’œ

          Liked by 1 person

        2. I love your two cents! Thank you. And thank you for bringing up the Raven. I like him too.

          Nope, just one stroke. Lolololol.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. I prefer dark bare backgrounds if I think I can get away with it. I don’t think his background was as dark but it may have been. Was that what I was going for? I think I was probably just trying not to screw it up.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Barbara. I agree as well. But I would not have seen it if he wouldn’t have pointed it out…

      Like

  2. Yes, he’s right…you nailed those flowers! I’m sure his suggestions are good ones, but I’m obviously not at the level where I can truly see the reason for changing the “light” a little. I think it’s fine. And like he says, the flowers are the central part of the picture, so job well done, Dawn! It’s got to be exciting to have a work critiqued by a teacher. What an awesome opportunity for learning lots of little “fine points” that will take your already fantastic art to even more fantastic levels. Please feel free to pass on any tips to those of us down below, still struggling to learn!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Judith!

      I knew you could get 10 critiques, but I thought you had to ask for them! If I would have known that just sending him some paintings would trigger a critique, I don’t think I would have been brave enough to send them.

      So his suggestions were to extend the light down on the curtain a little and extend the light out on the table to about the end of the pot…to give the painting an even more airy feel.

      I was giddy about the flower comments and floored by the “you can almost count the brush strokes”.

      Always learning right? If you don’t learn, you get stale.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’d be thrilled with a critique like you got! And he’s right about those flowers and the brush strokes. I’d be one of those “overworkers” with so many strokes you’d never be able to count them. And the colors are so delicate — especially for you πŸ™‚ I think it feels “airy” and light as it is, but he’s the professional. Congratulations on doing such a great job and getting so much praise. I’d be giddy, too!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I was thrilled! Now nervous about the others.

          You know, those petal strokes…so much practice on petals since last October, thousands and thousands of petal strokes…if I would have done this painting 7 months ago, I would have have a billion muddled strokes in there. I was thrilled that he noticed that! I want petals to be my thing.

          Liked by 2 people

        2. Very delicate colors for me. It took all I had not to go rogue. But I said….no. Just use the colors suggested to you. So so hard!

          Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.