Starry Night Sunflowers from the Art Sherpa 24 X 36

I had just started painting again and was browsing you tube videos.  I ran across a video from the Art Sherpa and found that this painting combined two of my very favorite things in art.  She painted in acrylic, I used oils so I could not really paint WITH her per se, but I could sure follow the idea.   At the point of painting this in October 2015, I had done a handful of paintings over about 15 years and had no clue what I was doing.  I learned about solvent and linseed oil a few weeks after this painting which could have made life so much easier, but it wouldn’t look the same.  I am glad I didn’t know about those little helpers at the time and I use them pretty rarely even now.  I do like to stare at this painting.  I think it is the texture and colors that I like.  It is my rustic painting.  I painted two others like it for my sister and my sis in law, but I knew about linseed and solvent by that time so they are much smoother.  I like mine better.

15 thoughts on “Starry Night Sunflowers from the Art Sherpa 24 X 36

    1. Thank you Laura. This one was actually posted for you because you said you wanted to see big. I was so proud of this one when I did it. It was my first BIG one. This one took me 18 hours. I was so slow! There was so much paint on the canvas and trying to get the yellow on top of the blue was brutal…October 2015. I have learned lots since then.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Omg Dawn I thought it looked familiar. My memory is so so bad! I was thinking I know I’ve seen this before, but I couldn’t remember the context. It is really beautiful. I so admire people who can work large, and yet so beautifully. Very impressive. 💛

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You have not seen this one, but I did a smaller one like an 18 X 24 that I posted when I started the blog. That one is one etsy but it is quite different. Same concept, but different look.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Oh! You were my single visitor. 😊

          I painted a few pictures back in early 2000 and a handful more during the next 15 years. October is when I started getting serious. I was averaging less than a painting a year before that. I still had all my old paint from early 2000 and most of it was dry as a bone.

          Thank you!

          Liked by 1 person

        3. Funny thing about that Laura. I am just now starting to appreciate my own paintings. It used to be that I could not see anything good in them at all. I would just stare at them and pick out all the things that could be better, or where I went out of the lines or how the color should be different….no shadows, no depth and blah blah blah. I have eased up on myself. Now I can stare at them and appreciate more rather than nit pick.

          Liked by 1 person

        4. Wouldn’t that be something if VV was proud! I bet he would be because he has no idea that he made it so big that people are trying to replicate his style.

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.