Excavator Oil Painting

This is an 11 X 14 oil painting I did for my brother in law.  It is the first in the Groundhog Series of man trucks I am using to pay rent for my recreational vehicle storage at Groundhog Excavating Inc.  He said he would give me a screaming 5 year deal for 60 paintings by Friday.  Only 59 more to go.  Uh…He did not want flowers.  Weird.  I asked if I could put sunflowers in the bucket and just got a dirty look.  I hope he likes it.  I also hope that the next painting I do won’t take me so long. The first is always the hardest.  The second never comes out as good as the first and by the third I should figure out a little better what I am doing.  I might decide to just pay him cash instead.  Good grief.

17 thoughts on “Excavator Oil Painting

  1. Amen to that! Them supplies ain’t cheap and I really have a fondness for art supplies. My husband got me a little handheld pencil sharpener…like the three dollar kind, a pack of pencils and a pink eraser and I thought it was Christmas! All I Needed was a big chief writing pad and I would have been in heaven. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. WordPress is playing with my comments today. Laura posted one earlier that I didn’t see…now I just discovered this one! I wonder how many other comments are hiding somewhere. I love Amazon for art supplies. Since I’m a Prime member, no shipping costs, so for me, it’s worth the yearly membership fee. The closest art supply store we have is a Hobby Lobby about 15 miles away. I always be sure to use their 40% discount coupon, and only buy one thing at a time. I go there when I need something right away — although Amazon always gets my orders to me within 2 days. If I run out of something though I’ll head to Hobby Lobby. They don’t have the greatest selection, unfortunately. I tried to buy scratchboard tools there, and they had no idea what I was even talking about.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do Blicks for canvas and buy in bulk because it is expensive!!!! I do the Michaels 50% when they have it for paint and get brushes from Amazon. I really like The two day shipping thing too.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I will not tell you what I am not fond of cuz I’m not supposed to, but there is plenty. My husband basically told me….step away from the painting. You are cooking the painting, step…away.

      Thank you very much! It needs flowers…that is one of the things.😏

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I was thinking maybe on one of the future paintings we could see a little more grass…and maybe there just might happen to be a few flowers growing in the grass… 🙂 I went back to look at the painting again when you talked about “cooking it”. My first thought was that maybe the sky was a little over-done, and then I saw your comment abut the sky and the clouds. Maybe a little lighter touch on the next one? I like the “clunky” skies, but the excavator should be the star of the show, so maybe the clouds could be a bit more subdued. What do you think?

        Like

        1. Exactly. I would have more dimension and more focus on the excavator if the sky was less. The husband said the sky went with the painting because the whole painting is pretty textured. Wish the picture would pick that up, but it won’t. He threatened to take away my palette knife!!!! I tried to explain to him my reasoning, he shook his head and walked away. So, I stopped.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Yup I will. I remember my very first painting. Oh my gosh! It was a beta in a fish bowl and I had just gotten my paints and brushes and was all ready to get it on. When I tried to paint, the blob of paint just sat there. I tried to work with it and had no idea what that linseed oil and solvent that came with the set were. It was interesting. My six year old nephew bought it at a garage sale for a dollar or something like that. It hung in his room for years and every time I passed it, I wanted him to throw it away so bad!!!! It was beyond terrible. So last year I painted some owls for elephant gifts and my nephew says…you painted this??? Lolololol.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. It’s always so, well, odd but good to see something I’ve drawn or painted actually hanging on someone’s wall. It’s an awesome feeling but at the same time I’m thinking, “I could probably do better now than I did back then.” I guess we’re always wanting to “edit” or tweak our art.

          Liked by 1 person

        4. I’m telling you…there was no good feeling. Oh…it was like kindergarten art on a fridge! It was appropriate for a child’s room I suppose. I actually made my mom throw away a water color I had done years ago and painted her another picture in oils to replace it. I refuse to do watercolor. Although, the one in her bathroom of poppies is nice…but I am one of those thick watercolor saturated color people so it almost looks acrylic.

          Liked by 1 person

        5. It’s nice that I can draw or paint things with special meaning for people and give them as gifts. In return, everybody now knows exactly what to get me for my birthday, Christmas, or other occasions. Buy me art supplies!

          Liked by 1 person

        6. I knocked some of the light blobs out of the sky. I think it is better than it was anyway. Next time. No more messing with this one!

          Liked by 1 person

    2. Okay, I will tell you what else I am not fond of. The sky. I started out with real clouds and it was too dainty or something, so I chunked it up a bit but I am not sure I like the way I did it…in fact, I don’t like it. I was gonna mess with it and my husband said no!…so the next painting, I will spend more time on the sky.

      Like

Comments are closed.